Bemanya appointed on NIRA board

Bemanya Twebaze

Former administrator of Uganda Telecom Limited [UTL], Twebaze Bemanya, has been appointed as a member of National Identification and Registration Authority-Uganda [NIRA].

Ofwono Opondo, Uganda Media Centre boss, confirmed the development while announcing cabinet resolutions on Tuesday morning in Kampala.

According to Opondo, Cabinet sat on Monday, January 13, 2020, at State House Entebbe, and; approved the appointment of the Chairperson and Members of the Governing Board of NIRA.

The board is headed by Joseph N. Biribonwa as its chairperson and Ruth Kavuma is his vice chairperson.

Victoria University

James Saaka is appointed a representative of NITA (U) while Bemanya is the representative for Uganda Registration Services Bureau [URSB].

Bemanya who is accused of ruining UTL, was recently replaced by senior lawyer, Ruth Sebatindira.


Meanwhile, Cabinet also approved the Appointment of Members of the Board of Directors for the National Animal Genetic Resources Center (NAGRC) and Data Bank.


i. Dr Johnson Nkuuhe – Chairperson (Livestock
specialist &Consultant
ii. Dr Juliet Sentumbwe – Member (Director
Animal Resources)
iii. Mr Paul Ssekyewa – Member (Representative
of the Fish breeders)
iv. Dr Herman Sekiwunga – Member (Representative
of the Animal breeders)
v. Dr. James Oluka – Member (Representative
of the National Agriculture Research Organization)
vi. Eng. Ssenozi Robert – Member (Representative
of Farmers in the Central region)
vii. Dr Kibeedi Kabral – Member (Representative
of Farmers in the Eastern region)
viii. Mr Ben Anyama – Member (Representative
of Farmers in the Northern region)
ix. Ms Loice Biira Bwambale – Member (Representative
of Farmers in the Western region)
x. Ms. Teddy Alako – Member (Representative
of the Ministry of Finance Planning and Economic Development)

xi. Dr. Richard Akule – Member (Representative
of the Uganda National Artificial Insemination Technicians Association)
xii. Dr Charles Lagu – Member (Secretary)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here