Pictorial: House assesses new 9 ministers


The Appointments Committee Friday 03 January 2020 met and vetted the nine presidential nominees to the different sector ministries.

The recently appointed ministers include Hons Ogwang Ogwang, Hamison Obua, Judith Nabakooba, Jackson Kafuzi and Robina Nabbanja.

The other new ministers are Hons Beatrice Anywar, Hellen Adoa, Molly Kamukama and Raphael Magyezi.

Speaker Kadaga

The Appointments Committee was chaired by the Speaker of Parliament, Rebecca Kadaga.

Victoria University

Hon Rapheal Magyezi is the newly appointed Minister for Local Government.

Magyezi appearing before the committee

Mityana District Woman representative, Hon Judith Nabakooba, was recently appointed as Minister for Information, Communication Technology and National Guidance.


The new State Minister for Economic Monitoring, Molly Kamukama, has until her appointment been Principal Private Secretary to the President.


The new State Minister for Sports, Hon Denis Hamison Obua, later spoke to the members of the media who were waiting.

Hon Obua has been an ardent advocate for increase in the sports sector budget.


Hon Beatrice Anywar who was appointed as State Minister for Environment is a reknown environmentalist and represents Kitgum District.

The new State Minister for ICT, Hon Ogwang Ogwang, has been serving as a Parliamentary Commissioner.


Serere District Woman Representative, Hon Helen Adoa, recently appointed as State Minister for Fisheries was the last to appear before the Appointments Committee.


Article 113(1) of the Constitution states that, ‘Cabinet ministers shall be appointed by the President with the approval of Parliament from among MPs or persons qualified to be elected Members of Parliament’.

Kadaga adjourned the sitting of the Appointments Committee after vetting of the newly appointed ministers.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here