Court ejects 6 MPs from house

Constitutional Court of Uganda

In a nightmarish Christmas ruling, the Constitutional Court in Kampala has ejected six MPs from Parliament saying they were elected in constituents that were non-existent.

They are; Patrick Ochan (Apac, UPC party), Dr Elioda Tumwesigye (Sheema, NRM party), Tarsis Rwaburindore (Ibanda, NRM party), Hashim Sulaiman (Nebbi, NRM party), Asuman Basalirwa (Bugiri, Jeema party) and Abraham Lokii (Kotido, NRM party).

The ruling follows a petition filed by former Bufumbira East MP Eddie Kwizera.

In his petition, Kwizera said the creation of the six municipalities was done without the involvement of the Electoral Commission and yet one of its crucial mandate under Article 63 is to demarcated boundaries of constituencies.


He argued that Parliament can only create constituencies through an Act of Parliament and not by a mere resolution.

To him, this crucial mandate was usurped by Parliament and the Executive in disregard of Article 63(2) that requires that the EC demarcate constituencies to ensure that each county has at least one MP.


In their unanimous decision, the Justices held that the elections in the aforementioned constituents/ municipalities, were conducted neither in general elections nor as a way of by-elections which are the only recognised ways of electing MPs into Parliament.

Justice Christopher Madrama who wrote the lead judgment, said: β€œIn the premises, I would hold that elections conducted in the six affected municipalities mentioned in the judgment are not elections for an office of Member of Parliament existing under the Constitution because they are not general elections or by-elections.”

Secondly, he went on, the seats contested for did not have a vacancy and were already represented by elected MPs in the general elections of 2016.

He said the elections already conducted in the municipalities of Apac, Sheema, Ibanda, Nebbi, Bugiri and Kotido are non-existent vacancies or seats in Parliament and cannot stand.

β€œI would find that article 61 (1) b that places a duty on the second respondent (Electoral Commission ) to conduct elections in accordance with the constitution, it’s duty is to ensure that each county is represented in Parliament as stipulated by article 62 (2) of the constitution and can only be exercised where there is a vacancy.”

Justice Madrama noted that the vacancies would occur in the municipalities of Apac, Sheema, Ibanda, Nebbi, Bugiri and Kotido with necessary demarcation by the second respondent (EC) and would be available for contest in the next general elections upon dissolution of the sitting parliament or unless any particular existing seat becomes vacant under articles 83 and 84 of the constitution.

The other justices who agreed with the majority judgment of Justice Madrama are; Deputy Chief Justice Alfonse Owiny Dollo, Cheborion Barishaki, Kenneth Kakuru and Fredrick Egonda Ntende.

The court also emphasized that no seats in Parliament can be created after the general elections have been conducted.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here