Kamwenge finally lets go of new Kitagwenda district

Kamwenge district chairman, Aggrey Natuhamya.

Kamwenge district Friday officially let go of Kitagwenda County which will become a district effective July 1, 2019. 

Kitagwenda has been one of the two counties that make up Kamwenge district.

Uganda Radio Network quotes Kamwenge district chairman Aggrey Natuhamya declaring that Kitagwenda will now become an independent local government administrative unit.   

He held the last council sitting at Kamwenge district council hall where Kamwenge Deputy Chairperson Peter Asaba, read the transition report.

Victoria University

According to the report, Kitagwenda will be made up of six Sub Counties and two town councils.

The Sub Counties are; Nyabbani, Ntara, Kanara, Kicheche, Mahyoro and the Town Councils are; Kabujogera and Ntara-Kicwamba.


It was also revealed 972 technical staff of Kamwenge district have been transferred to Kitagwenda district, URN reported.

They include; health workers, teachers, workers in the office of the Chief Administrative Officer and workers from the planning and education departments.  

Kamwenge also relinquished its assets like computers, furniture and vehicles to Kitagwenda.

The District councillors approved Shs14bn for the new district with priority on works, health, and education while government sent Shs150m to construct Kitagwenda Town Council offices.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here