Rwancwanga wins Kajara FDC flag as rivals step down

FDC aspirants for Kajara

Forum for Democratic Change [FDC] party conducted Primaries for Kajara County on Saturday last week.

Candidates who tussled for the FDC flag included Jim Assimwe Kebiso, Darlington Biryabarema Rahure, and Alex Mutesa Rwancwanga.

After campaign speeches, delegates suggested negotiations and consensus building amongst the candidates since all were good and had capacity to win the elections and also become effective representatives for the people of Kajara County in the National Parliament.

The 3 candidates agreed with the proposal by delegates and went into negotiations which lasted for one hour.

Victoria University

For purposes of building harmony within the party, Candidates Jim Asiimwe Kebiso and Darlington Biryabarema stepped down for Mr. Alex Mutesa Rwancwanga who was eventually unveiled as the FDC MP Flag Bearer for Kajara County in the forthcoming general elections.

More than 70 people were also unveiled to contest for various positions as sub county and town council chairpersons as well as district (LC5) and sub county (LC3) councillors.

The County Conference attracted at least 600 delegates from all the villages and parishes of Kajara County and observers who came from the districts of Bushenyi, Rukungiri, Isingiro and within Ntungamo District.

Among the key observers were: Mrs. Federica Nshemereirwe (FDC Flag Bearer for Woman MP Bushenyi District), Mr. Naboth Namanya, FDC MP Flag Bearer for Rubabo County), Mr. Benon Ntendere (FDC Chairman Ntungamo District), Mr. Julius Rwenzigye (incumbent LC5 Councilor representing Rubare Town Council) among others.

Nominations for all elective positions by Uganda Electoral Commission will follow soon.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here