NBS TV, New Vision dominate 2020 ACME awards


The African Centre for Media Excellence (ACME) has Friday announced the winners of the Uganda National Journalism Awards 2020.

The Uganda National Journalism Awards celebrate and honour reporting that embraces the ideals of journalistic excellence: enterprise, originality, depth, rigour, accuracy, and diversity of voices.

This year, 241 entries were submitted for the awards. Only 54 were shortlisted.

ACME board chair, Dr Monica Chibita, opening the #ACMEAwards20, says these awards are vital now more than ever because of the complexities that Covid-19 and Uganda’s election season have brought to the fore.

Victoria University

Dr Chibita says that while she is retiring from the ACME board this month, she is confident about the future of the organisation and its centrality in the contributing to the professionalism of journalism in Uganda.

They selected the winning entries based on accuracy, initiative, originality, clarity of interpretation, storytelling ability, public benefit or impact on society, audience engagement, innovation, the journalists’ writing, and creative flair, according to judge Dr Emily Maractho.

The winner of the Uganda National Journalism Award 2020 for agriculture reporting is JOSHUA KATO of New Vision for his reporting on the dangers of agro-chemicals to the ecosystem.

Judges described the winning entry in the Agriculture reporting category as an excellent, balanced and in-depth report on an important public issue.

It examines a frequently-neglected topic from multiple perspectives.

The winner of the Arts Reporting Award for the story, ‘Bobi Wine: The poster boy of defiance music’ is FRANK WALUSIMBI of NTV Uganda.

The winner of the Breaking News Award is BETTY AMAMUKIRORI of New Vision for her breaking news series on the forced genital mutilation of girls in Kween district.

The winner of the Business, Economy and Finance Reporting Award is ISMAIL MUSA LADU of Daily Monitor for his two-part series on the losses Uganda is suffering due to its problematic double taxation agreements.

The winner of the Data Journalism award is EDGAR RAYMOND BATTE of Daily Monitor for the story ‘Birding can rake in more money than mountain gorillas’.

Education Reporting Award Winners SOLOMON SERWANJJA and THOMAS KITIMBO of NBS Television for the story ‘Mature before 18’.

The winner of the Energy and Extractives Reporting award is DANIEL LUTAAYA of NBS Television for the story ‘The real gold diggers’.

The winning story in the Environment Reporting category is ‘Bidi Bidi’s firewood crisis’ by SOLOMON SERWANJJA and TIMOTHY MAGANDA of NBS Television.

The winner of the Explanatory Reporting award is the story, ‘The sinking of MV Templar’ by RAYMOND MUJUNI and GODFREY BADEBYE of NBS Television.

The winner of the Features award is RICHARD WETAYA of New Vision for the story, ‘Is the fight against teenage pregnancy lost?’.

The winner of the Health Reporting award is LEAH KAHUNDE of Radio One 90 FM for the story ‘Unsafe and sorry’.

The winning story in the investigative journalism category is titled ‘Ranches encroachment’ by SUDHIR BYARUHANGA of NTV Uganda.

Winners of the Justice, Law and Order Reporting award are BETTY AMAMUKIRORI, EDWARD MUHUMUZA, PATRICK TUMWESIGYE AND OBEID LUTALE of Vision Group for the story series, ‘Officials turn courts into corruption dens’.

The winner of the Uganda National Journalism Award for local reporting is CULTON SCOVIA NAKAMYA of BBS Terefayina for the story, ‘Mothers at risk as water crisis cripples Nakaseke Hospital’.

Winner of the national news reporting (broadcast) award is the story, ‘Stealing from the sick’ by SOLOMON SERWANJJA, GODFREY BADEBYE and KASSIM MOHAMMED of NBS Television.

The winner of the Uganda National Journalism Awards national news reporting (print) category is RONALD MUSOKE of The Independent for the story, ‘Colours of violence in the 2021 election’.

The winner of the Uganda National Journalism Award for photo and video journalism is ABUBAKER LUBOWA of Daily Monitor for the photo titled, ‘Nowhere to run’. The photograph captures the humanity of a single event that devastated many people.

CHRISTOPHER KAYONGA and GABRIEL IGUMA of Wizarts are winners of the Political Reporting award for the story, ‘Demarcation of polling areas’. The entry is distinguished for its excellent analysis of the public policy process and politics surrounding it.

The winner of the Uganda National Journalism Award for sports reporting is ABDUL-NASSER SSEMUGABI of Daily Monitor for the story, ‘Malta: Opening the pool for young para-swimmers’.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here