Youth polls: FDC takes Buikwe as police blocks voters over masks

Police blocking youth who showed up without masks

Opposition Forum for Democratic Change [FDC] says it has swept the Buikwe district Village Youth Committees elections which kicked off Monday.

In Wakisi 1, Ward A, Wakisi division of Njeru municipality, 7 out 9 FDC candidates have won Village Youth Elections unopposed.

In Kitala Ward Katabi Sub-county in Wakiso District, police blocked youth from accessing the polling centre because they were not wearing facemasks.

Police say wearing facemasks in such a public place is mandatory to control the spread of coronavirus.  

Victoria University

Police from Mpala Police Station said that voters who have no facemasks would be allowed to participate in the voting exercise.

The race for Kitala Ward Village Youth Committee chairperson attracted Fred Luwagga (National Unity Platform), Joseph Mujabi (Democratic Party) and Sam Seruyange (National Resistance Movement).

According to the acting spokesperson of the Electoral Commission, Paul Bukenya, voters are lining up behind candidates, their portraits, symbols or agents.

Voting will not go beyond 4:00 pm.

Village Youth Committees comprise of the chairperson, vice chairperson, general secretary, publicity secretary, secretary for women youth, secretary for student affairs, secretary for labour affairs, secretary for sports and culture and the secretary for finance.

Teargas in Mbale

In Mbale city, police on Sunday fired live bullets and teargas to disperse rowdy supporters of FDC that attempted to destabilize the party primary elections in the Northern Division.

The supporters suspected to be for one of the candidates, Gershom Wambede Sizomu, stormed the polling station and attempted to force themselves into the polling centre.

The group of youth stormed the gate and demanded the elections be cancelled, claiming that the ground was not leveled.

The group was also protesting a move by the FDC electoral commission to block their candidate from entering the polling centre.

The exercise had four contestants; Peter Gidudu who got two votes, Swelle Mafabi got no vote, Wambede got 13 votes while Wanyoto got 66 votes and was declared the winner.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here