Kiir returns S.Sudan to 10 states

President Kiir

South Sudan President Salva Kiir has agreed to return the country to ten states following a meeting of the presidency at the State House J1 last evening.

This has just been announced by the Minister in the Office of the President, Mayiik Ayiik, according to Eye Radio Juba.

Kiir Saturday met with senior government officials at the State House.

This followed a consultative meeting called by the government and other stakeholders which Friday resolved to have 32 states and Abyei Administrative.

Victoria University

The meeting included state governors, members of parliament, SPLM party youth, civil society, and religious leaders among others.

The consultations follow a request early this week, during the IGAD meeting in Addis Ababa, where the President asked for time off to come back to Juba and consult, after failing to reach an agreement with the main opposition SPLA IO on the issue.

He is expected to report back to IGAD mediators today 15th February, reported Radio Miraya.

First Vice President Taban Deng and Vice President James Iga Wani address press

Miraya said the people and local authorities of Lankien in Bieh State demonstrated, demanding for a return to the original 10 states.

The Deputy Governor of Bieh State, Pal Mai, says this is the popular demand of the citizens in the area.

On Saturday morning, Kiir addressed the nation announcing the return to 10 states.

Pibor, Abyei and Ruweng will become the three main administrative areas.  



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here