Musasizi, Banyenzaki win Rubanda NRM primaries

Bwebare [in suit] with Musasizi in NRM shirt [Photo by URN]

Rubanda East County Member of Parliament Henry Ariganyira Musasizi is the newly elected ruling National Resistance Movement [NRM] chairperson for Rubanda district.

Musasizi who doubles as the chairperson of the Parliamentary Finance Committee defeated Benon Bwebare, a prominent businessman.

Musasizi polled 73 votes compared to Bwebare’s 54 votes in the election held Tuesday at the district headquarters in South-Western Uganda.

In the same election, former Economic Monitoring Minister Henry Banyenzaki defeated Owoyesigyire Drake Diaz, a tour guide, to clinch the position of NRM Publicity Secretary.

Banyenzaki [R]
Victoria University

 In Rukiiga District, Apollo Nyegamahe (Aponye) won the NRM chairmanship.

There was heavy deployment of police and Uganda Peoples Defense Forces (UPDF) in Rubanda town council to secure the party primaries.

Rubanda is among the 55 districts that are conducting party elections to fill gaps in new administrative units.

This is aimed at enabling the areas to have representation at the National Delegate’s Conference that will take place on Saturday at Namboole stadium.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here