BoU moves staff at currency centres

Bank of Uganda

Bank of Uganda has transferred some of its staff who have been working at currency centres across the country.

This, according to the report, is to strengthen internal controls in the currency operations.

The central bank has nine branches and currency centres countrywide which store, process and monitor the supply of currency to the government and private financial institutions.

They are in Kampala, Arua, Fort Portal, Gulu, Jinja, Kabale, Masaka, Mbarara and Mbale towns.

Victoria University

The branches also ensure that new banknotes are circulated in all the geographical regions of the country.

Angela Kasirye Katete, the deputy director corporate affairs, who is currently acting as the director of communications, told media the transfers were “normal”.

She said they were carried out from time to time as provided for in BoU’s regulations and human resource policies.

The currency department is responsible for the designing and ordering of banknotes and coins to meet the country’s demand; this is one of the main functions of the department.

This move follows a recent scandal which saw staff steal unspecified amount of money from the Mbale town centre.

BoU has since instituted internal investigations into the currency operations at Mbale Regional Branch.

BoU governor Emmanuel Mutebile on February 7, 2018, effected staff appointments and transfers at various levels of management.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here