People’s Assembly swears in new leaders

Besigye speaking at the inauguration

By Ronald Muhinda

The People’s Government has inaugurated simultaneous Regional Assemblies in three regions of Uganda.

Over the weekend, Buganda, Busoga, Bugisu, Sebei, Bukedi, Teso, Lango, West Nile, Bunyoro, Toro, Ankole, Kigezi held their Regional Assemblies, consisting change of leaders from district to Sub County levels.

The Regional Assemblies are subordinate to the National Assembly launched on 14th February 2019.

Victoria University

The People’s Government is involved in the process of identifying, recruiting, training and building a strong and committed grassroot leadership that will lead the liberation struggle in Uganda.

For the Teso Regional Assembly, FDC President Patrick Oboi Amuriat was the Chief Guest supported by Prime Minister Rt. Hon Prime Minister Salaamu Musumba, Speaker of National Assembly Rt. Hon Albert Oduman and Hon. Adeke Ebaju.

For Buganda Regional Assembly, President Kizza-Besigye was Chief Guest supported by Owek. Wasswa Birigwa, Owek. Joyce Ssebugwawo, Hon. Namboze Bakireke, Deputy Speaker of National Assembly Rt. Hon Cissy Nabantazi Ssempa, Owek. Mukalazi Kibuuka, Hon. Kyambadde Wilberforce, Hon. Mutawe Paul and others.


In Busoga Regional Assembly, Hon. Ken Lukyamuzi was Chief Guest supported by a team of Ministers who include Hon. Wafula Oguttu.

The Kigezi Regional Assembly was presided over by Hon. Harold Muhindo assisted by Hon. Ingrid Turinawe and Hon. Kaginda Roland.

For Sebei Regional Assembly, it was presided over by Hon. Mubarack Munyagwa Mubarak as Chief Guest assisted by Hon. Ekanya Geoffrey.

Bukedi Regional Assembly was presided over by Hon. Atikins Katushabe as Chief Guest, assisted by Hon. Kevina Taaka.

West Nile Regional Assembly, Kennedy Okello was Chief Guest, assisted by Hon. Acan Hellen and Hon. Kamulali Asia Nasuna.

Bunyoro Regional Assembly, Hon. Kasibante Moses was Chief Guest assisted by Hon. Tugume Moses and Hon. Kunihira Scovia

Ankole Regional Assembly was presided over by Hon. Mwijukye Francis assisted by Hon Dr. Rhoder Kasande, Hon. Plan Mugyenyi and Hon. Vincent Kyamadidi.


Tooro Regional Assembly was presided over by Dr. Dominic Wakabi assisted by Hon. Nyanjura Doreen.

Lango Regional Assembly was presided over by Leader of Minority Rt. Hon. Betty Aol assisted by Hon. Pp Okin, Hon. Dr. George Ekwaro, Hon. Abwang Otim Mike.

Bugisu regional Assembly, Hon. William Nzoghu was in charge and assisted by Hon. Margret Wokuri Madanda Hon. Wamanga Wamai and Hon. Nandala Mafabi.

Regional Assemblies for Kasese, Acholi and Karamoja will be inaugurated and conducted at a different date.

Teso Regional Assembly and Busoga Regional Assembly were disrupted by Police and other security agencies using teargas and bullets to disperse the leaders.

Teso Regional Assembly leaders, under the leadership of Party President Patrick Oboi Amuriat fought back fiercely and regrouped by defiance to carry on with their work.

At all the Regional Assemblies that have not been disrupted, leaders from all the districts in of each Region elected their Regional Assembly Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

Similarly, District Leaders that form the Regional Assembly also elected their own District Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

At the Regional Assembly, names of Regional Commissioners (previously known as Governors) and their Deputies as well as District Commissioners and their Deputies were submitted for vetting and approval.

All the people elected and appointed have taken oath of allegiance to the People of Uganda.

The Regional and District Commissioners become part of the Executive Arm of the People’s Government.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here