68% of population not in money economy, says Museveni

President Museveni

President Yoweri Museveni who is also the National Chairman of the National Resistance Movement today opened the 5 day retreat of the Central Executive Committee of the National Resistance Movement, highlighting governments’ major achievements in infrastructure development and service delivery and emphasizing that the weakest point now is economic empowerment of the 68% of the population who rely on subsistence agriculture mainly in the rural areas.

He advised the party’s top organ that the retreats’ number one pre-occupation should be finding a solution to the 68% of the population that are not in money economy.

“These 68% population is our weakest point that we need to discuss, the rest is easy. Let us agree and talk the same language and act together,” he said.

Lumumba receives Museveni


President Museveni while addressing CEC Saturday morning at Chobe Safari Lodge in Nwoya district in Acholi sub-region said that whereas the NRM is on track in provision of the development infrastructure including roads, electricity and service delivery, the presence of a big fraction of the population living a subsistence life is a big challenge to the party and the country.

The CEC retreat is being held under the theme “Building on solid achievements, consolidating the unity of the NRM and the transformation of the Wanainchi towards achieving vision 2040”.


Hajji Moses Kigongo (1st National Vice Chairperson), Rt. Hon. Rebeccah Kadaga (2nd National Vice Chairperson), Rt. Hon. Ruhakana Rugunda , Maj Gen Matayo Kyaligonza (Western Region), Hon. Mike Mukula (Eastern Region), Hon. Simon Aleper (Karamoja Region), Hon. Abdul Nadduli (Central Region), Hon. Sam Engola (Northern Region), Hon Godfrey Nyakana (Kampala Region) and Maj. Gen. Jim Muhwezi (Veterans).

Others include: Hon. Kirunda Kivejinja (Historicals), Hon. Lydia Wanyoto (Women), Hon Ruth Nankabirwa (NRM Parliamentary Caucus), Hon. Kato Gabriel (PWD s), Hon. Gidudu Mafabi (Elderly), Dr. Rukari Robert (Entreprenuers), Hon James Tweheyo (Workers), Hon. Huda Oleru (Special Nominee) and Hajji Nasur Gadafi (Youth), Gen. Kahinda Otafire, Rt. Hon Justine Kasule Lumumba (Secretary General) and Dr. Tanga Odoi (Chairman EC).

Hon Richard Todwong (Deputy SG), Hon. Kenneth Omona (Deputy NT), Hon. John Kigyagi (EC Commissioner), Hon. Jane Alisemera (EC Commissioners), Dr Hassan Galiwango (Finance Director) and Senior Counsel Oscar Kihika (Legal Director) are among other party leaders present.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here