FDC Iron Lady Ingrid Turinawe elected DUA vice chair

Ingrid with colleagues in Ghana

Forum for Democratic Change [FDC] Chief Mobiliser Ingrid Turinawe has been elected as the Vice Chairperson of Democratic Union of Africa (DUA) in the Ghanaian capital Accra.

Ingrid Turinawe replaces Ghana’s President Nana Akufo-Addo who was opposition figure Kizza Besigye’s deputy.

Ingrid will deputise Namibia’s McHenry Venaani, who was elected DUA Chairman to replace Kizza Besigye.

Democratic Party [DP] President Norbert Mao competed against Venaani and lost.

Mao and Ingrid

The FDC Leaders led by Party President Hon. Eng. Patrick Amuriat Oboi, Secretary General Rt. Hon. Nathan Nandala Mafabi were also in Accra- Ghana attending the Democratic Union of Africa (DUA) re-launch Conference hosted by the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) of Ghana.

Victoria University

DUA is an alliance of centre – right political parties in Africa founded in Dakar, Senegal in 1997. It is affiliated to the global International Democratic Union (IDU).

In the DUA Conference that is ongoing at Labadi – Beach Hotel is being supported by International Democratic Union (IDU), Konrad Adenauer Stiftung (KAS), Conservative Party of UK as well as the West Minister foundation for Democracy.

The conference is being held to advance preparations towards the re launch and rejuvenation of the union.

DUA was formed to provide a common platform for all the stakeholders to share ideas on matters of policy and to establish necessary links as well as to speak with one strong voice in furtherance of its objectives of promoting democracy and centre right philosophy on the continent of Africa.

The conference will among others also be used to confer Honorary Patron of DUA on H. E President Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo- Addo.

The Ghanaian leader is being honoured for his unwavering commitment to the ideals of the union and the advancement of centre – right philosophies in Africa and across the globe.

The conference was opened by H. E Dr Al Hajj Mohammad Baumia the Vice President of Ghana.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here