Caf awards: Cranes captain Onyango named on FIFPro Team of the Year

L-R Onyango, Sadio Mane, Geremi Njitap and Mohammad Salah

Uganda Cranes goalkeeper and captain Dennis Onyango was named on the FIFPro Africa CAF team of the year.

This was during the Aiteo CAF Awards 2018 held in Dakar, Senegal on the night of Tuesday, 8th January 2019 attended by FIFA President Gianni Infantino, CAF President Ahmad Ahmad, President of Republic of Senegal Macky Sall and FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo.

Onyango was once again inspirational for Uganda Cranes in the qualification to the 2019 Total Africa Cup of Nations, making it unbeaten with a game to spare and not conceding in as many as five matches.

The other players on the team include; the CAF footballer of the year 2018 Mohammed Salah, Aurier, Benatia, Bailly, Koulibaly, Keita, Partey, Mahad Mahrez, Aubameyang and Sadio Mane.

Onyango was present in Dakar to pick his award.

Victoria University

FUFA CEO Edgar Watson led a strong delegation from Uganda at the awards that had Cranes coach Sebastien Desabre.

FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo was also in Dakar as CAF Executive Committee Member where he also attended the meeting that confirmed Egypt as this year’s hosts for the AFCON tournament.

Meanwhile, Mauritania was named the CAF national team of the year, coming ahead of Uganda Cranes and Madagascar, the other nominated teams.

Full Awards:

CAF Male Player of the Year 2018

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year 2018

Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

Youth Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)

Men’s Coach of the Year

Herve Renard (Morocco)

Women’s Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Men’s National Team of the Year


Women’s National Team of the Year


Platinum Award

His Excellency Macky Sall (President of the Republic of Senegal)

Federation President of the Year

Fouzi Lekjaa

Goal of the Year

Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash).

Africa All Stars: Denis Onyango (Uganda); Serge Aurier (Ivory Coast), Medhi Benatia (Morocco), Eric Bailly (Ivory Coast), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal); Thomas Partey (Ghana), Naby Keita (Guinea), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria); Sadio Mane (Senegal), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon), Mohamed Salah (Egypt).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here