Cranes beat Lesotho 3-0, fly out aboard Museveni plane


Uganda Cranes restored their top spot in group L in the on-going Total Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers 2019 with an overwhelming performance following a 3-0 win over Lesotho at the Mandela National Stadium, Namboole on Saturday.

Emmanuel Arnold Okwi notched a brace and Faruku Miya (penalty) were on target for the win that pushes Uganda back to the top with 7 points.

A delegation of 70 people including 24 players left the country for Lesotho on Sunday morning aboard a chartered flight offered by the head of state, President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni.

The group departed Entebbe International Airport with players, technical staff, FUFA Executive Committee members, FUFA delegates, Government officials and some fans aboard.

The group is expected to arrive in Maseru at around noon (local time).

Victoria University

The FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo is part of the delegation.

The Leader of Delegation is Richard Ochom from North East Region FA.

Uganda Cranes face Lesotho on Tuesday, 16th October 2018 at the Setsoto stadium in the return tie of the double header whose first leg was won 3-0 by the time team to reclaim top spot in group L.

The Traveling Contingent:


Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (El Meriekh, Sudan), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC, Uganda)

Defenders: Murushid Juuko (Simba SC, Tanzania), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam FC, Tanzania), Godfrey Walusimbi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (El Geish, Egypt), Dennis Iguma (Kazma FC, Kuwait),  Isaac Isinde (Kirinya Jinja SS, Uganda), FC, Isaac Muleme (Haras El Hodood, Egypt), Timothy Denis Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda)

Midfielders: Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India), Moses Waiswa (Vipers Sc, Uganda), Joseph Benson Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Ibrahim Sadam Juma (KCCA FC, Uganda), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC, Uganda), Allan Kateregga (Cape Town City, South Africa), Milton Karisa (MC Oujda, Morocco), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA, Uganda),

Forwards: Edrisa Lubega (SV Ried, Austria), Patrick Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda), Faruku Miya (Gorica, Croatia), Emmanuel Okwi (Simba Sports Club, Tanzania), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt)

Leader of Delegation: Richard Ochom

Technical Staff:

  • Head coach: Sebastien Desabre
  • Assistant coach: Mathias Lule
  • Goalkeeping coach: Fred Kajoba
  • Medical Team: Ronald Kisolo and Ivan Ssewanyana
  • Kitsman: Lawrence Kizito
  • Advance Party/Team Manager: Chrispus Muyinda
  • FUFA President: Eng. Moses Magogo
  • Media Officer: David Isabirye


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here