Afcon 2019: Cranes grab point off Tanzania

Utility player Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (right) partnered with Murushid Jjuuko in central defence

Uganda Cranes and Tanzania Taifa Stars played to a non-scoring stalemate at the Mandela National Stadium in the Total AFCON 2019 qualifiers.

The well attended match played on a slippery surface witnessed the Cranes create a few goal scoring moments but the visitors lived to the billing.

Joseph Ochaya, Emmanuel Okwi and second half substitute Edrisa Lubega all had opportunities not optimally utilized.

The visitors took had some close chances with the best goal scoring opportunity falling to the team captain Mbwana Samatta failing to beat goalkeeper and captain Denis Onyango in a one man against one incident.

Uganda Cranes technical team called for all the three changes.

Patrick Henry Kaddu replaced Joseph Ochaya after 67 minutes, William Luwagga Kizito came off for Emmanuel Arnold Okwi 10 minutes later and Edrisa Lubega took over Faruku Miya’s place with the last five minutes.

A point earned still maintains Uganda Cranes on top of the group L with four points, off two matches played.

The two other group countries (Lesotho and Cape Verde) face off in Maseru on Sunday.

The match at Namboole was graced by the speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga as chief guest, State Minister of sports Charles Bakabulindi, FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo, FUFA Delegates and over 35,000 spectators.

Team Line Ups:

Uganda Cranes XI:

Denis Onyango (GK, Captain), Nico Wakiro Wadada, Godfrey Walusimbi, Murushid Jjuuko, Hassan Wasswa Mawanda, Khalid Aucho, Denis Iguma, Moses Waiswa, Faruku Miya (86′ Edrisa Lubega), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (77′ William Luwagga Kizito), Joseph Ochaya (67′ Patrick Henry Kaddu)

Subs Not Used:

Salim Jamal (G.K), Charles Lukwago (G.K), Ibrahim Sadam Juma, Derrick Nsibambi, Patrick Henry Kaddu, Isaac Muleme, Timothy Denis Awany, Moses Opondo, Allan Kateregga, Ibrahim Sadam Juma

Tanzania XI

Tanzania Taifa Stars XI:

Aishi Salum Manula (G.K), Gadiel Michael Kamagi, Hassan Banda Abdi, Agrey Moris Ambros, David John Mwantika, Mbwana Samatta (Captain), Thomas Ulimwengu, Simon Msuva, Hassan Khamis Ramadhan, Frank Domayo, Abbas Mudathir


Benno David Kakolanya (G.K), Kelvin Sabato Kongwe, Hamid Mao Mkami, Farid Mussa Shah, Shaban Iddi Chilunda, Ally Mtoni, Rashid Mandawa, Salum Kimenya, Yahya Omari, Vicent Andrew Chikupe, Salum Kihimbwa, Mohamed Mohamed.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here