Sarah Kagingo wins PRAU presidency  

Sarah Kagingo is the new PRAU president

The Public Relations Association of Uganda [PRAU] has elected Sarah Kagingo as the new Association President from 2018-2020.

Kagingo, the founder of SoftPower Communications, garnered 51 votes beating her rival, Umeme’s David Birungi, who managed only 17 votes of the 71 total votes cast. Three of the votes were invalid.

The election took place during the association’s Annual General Meeting [AGM] held Saturday at Fairway hotel in Kampala.

New PRAU cabinet

MTN’s Corporate Communications Manager Val Oketcho has just been named PRAU Vice President.

Victoria University

Sumin Namaganda is the new Association Director of Programmes 2018-2020.

Eddie Oketcho is the new Secretary General with Sheila Naturinda as Deputy Secretary General.

Simon Kasyate was elected Director Public Relations.

Alfred Geresom Musamali is Director Discipline and Charles Nsamba the Treasurer.

Roland Seruyima and Kezia Koburungi were elected Students Representatives.

Kagingo calls for unity

In her maiden speech, Kagingo thanked members for making everything possible and choosing her to lead them.

“We have made it! We are finally here and I have nothing but heartfelt gratitude for your support, for the faith you have in me and for your votes,” she said.

Kagingo casting her vote

She assured members that they had made the bold and right decision to vote her use this opportunity to thank them.

She said the journey to put into action every item on her manifesto has begun.

She thanked her contender Birungi for a vibrant campaign.

“I will need you and each one of us for a vibrant PRAU. I congratulate the new Governing Council on being elected and thank the outgoing GC for laying a very firm foundation for us to start from. I call for unity. Thank you.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here