FDC’s Wadri, NRM losers go independent in Arua MP race

Former PAC chairman Kassiano Wadri

Former Terego county MP and Forum for Democratic Change [FDC] bigwig Kasiano Wadri Ezati has been nominated to run as an independent in Arua municipality by-election.

FDC settled on the youthful Bruce Musema for the MP seat.

Wadri was nominated by Ruth Angom, the Arua district returning officer, after the nomination of Francis Nyero, an Independent candidate.

Wadri told press that rigidity and infighting forced him to go against his party.

NRM losers contest as Independent

Victoria University

The Arua ruling National Resistance Movement [NRM] primaries ended with former East African Legislative Assembly [EALA] MP Nusura Tiperu as the winner and flag bearer for the party

Tiperu polled 1,798 votes beating her closest opponent Swadik Angupale who got 1,443 votes while Jackson Lee Atima got 1,362 votes.

John Lematia got 203 votes, Aluma Muhamad Ali got 183 votes, Simon Ejua got 118 votes, and Godfrey Obiga got 91 votes while Mbarak Kalfan got the list with 59 votes.

But Atima, Angupale and Lematia rejected the election results citing election malpractice. They cited pre-ticket ballots, missing names of voters and intimidation to favour the winner were not fair to other candidates.

They have thus returned as independents in the same race.

Others in the race are Francis Nyero, Jafar Olekua, Robert Ejiku, Alfred Nyakuni, Andruga John Daniel, Abdulrahman Juruga Simon Avutia, Maxwell Adriko, Gilchrist Badaka, Michael Angunda, and Sunday Anguandia all independent while Kennedy Madira is fronted on DP ticket.

The position fell vacant after slain MP Ibrahim Abiriga was shot by armed gangs who killed him and his brother Saidi Kongo near his home in Kawanda in Kampala last month.

The by-election will take place on August 15, 2018.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here