Arua: Tiperu wins NRM primaries to replace Abiriga

Nusura Tiperu

Former National Youth MP Nusura Tiperu is the winner of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party primaries to replace fallen Arua Municipality MP Ibrahim Abiriga.

Abiriga and his brother Saidi Buga Kongo were gunned down by unknown assailants from Kawanda, Wakiso District.

Tiperu, a former East African Legislative Assembly Member of Parliament was declared NRM flag bearer Wednesday by the NRM Electoral Commission chairman, Dr Tanga Odoi at the Arua municipal council offices.

She polled 1,798 votes beating her closest challenger, Swadik Angupale who got 1,443, followed by Jackson Atima who obtained 1,362 votes and John Lematia who trailed with 20.

Aluma Muhamad got 183 votes, Simon Ejua polled 118, Godfrey Obiga got 91 votes and Khalifan Mohamad obtained 59 votes.

Victoria University

Tiperu will join 15 other candidates on independent ticket to battle for the seat of Arua Municipality Parliamentary seat.

The nominations for the candidates starts today, Thursday July 19 and will end on July 20, 2018. The election is set for August 15, 2018.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here