FDC candidates nominated for MP, mayoral seats

FDC president Amuriat at a rally

The FDC Party President Hon. Eng. Patrick Amuriat Oboi led the FDC brigade at the nomination of the FDC Paliisa District Woman Member of Parliament candidate Hon. Catherine Achola Ipsullem at the Paliisa District Headquarters.

Thereafter he addressed a mammoth gathering in Paliisa Town.

Paliisa byelection comes as a result of the creation/curving of the new Butebo District out of Paliisa and the sitting Paliisa Woman MP went to Butebo leaving a vacuum.

“Our candidate Hon Achola contested in 2016 general elections as Paliisa District Woman MP won but was rigged out by NRM, went to court and High court nullified the  victory of NRM MP on grounds of rigging but Court of appeal where the NRM MP went overturned the ruling of the High court. With the creation of Butebo District, it creates an opportunity for Hon. Achola to Come back to seek the mandate of the People of Paliisa,” FDC said in a statement.

Victoria University

Hon. Achola was accompanied by FDC Kabweri county MP Hon. Francis Gonahasa, Soroti District Woman MP Hon. Angelline Osegge, Mityana Municipaity MP  Hon Zaake Francis Butebi, Kyadondo East MP Hon. Kyagulanyi Ssentamu Bobi wine, ex  Serere county MP Hon. Ochola Steven, FDC Treasurer General Hon. Ekanya Geoffrey, Soroti Municipality speaker Comrade Elakuna Isaac, Dr Wakida among others.

The byelection is scheduled for 28th June 2018.

Amuriat Oboi later led a delegation of FDC leaders to the new Butebo District for nomination Mr Khalwa Samuel the FDC flag bearer for Butebo District LC5 Chairman and the FDC flag bearer for New Butebo Town Council Mayor Mr. Mugerwa Jessy as well as councillors.

FDC earlier declared Virginia Mugyenyi as their flag bearer for the Sheema Municipality by-election.

Mugyenyi will be running against Sheema North MP Dr Elioda Tumwesigye, who also doubles as the Minister for Science and Technology.

Eunice Namatende was nominated today as the FDC Candidate for Bugiri Municipality.

“Our political decisions are reached via consensus. There had to be a strong basis for recalling Namatende who scored over 40,000 in the past election, and whose victory was snatched away at the tally centre. We are optimistic that Eunice is Bugiri’s choice,” the party said.

Dr. George Okello Ekwaro duly nominated as the FDC candidate for Apac Municipality MP seat.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here