Uganda Cup: Vipers, SC Villa tussle to join KCCA in final


The Holders of the Stanbic Uganda Cup Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) Football Club are already assured of a final slot in this year’s championship.

KCCA FC was in bullish mood, humiliating Masaka based side Synergy FC 9-0 during the return leg of the knock out tournament bankrolled by Stanbic Bank Uganda.

Patrick Kaddu scored thrice with a set of brace apiece from Allan Okello and Steven Sserwadda.

Solomon Okwalinga, a former player at Synergy before switching sides and Jackson Nunda were also on target.

KCCA FC will now wait to face the winner between Sports Club Villa Jogoo and Vipers Sports Club.

Victoria University

Vipers SC and Villa engage next Tuesday during a return leg in the semi-finals at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende.

The first leg between the two clubs ended goal-less at Mutesa II Stadium Wankulukuku last Sunday.

The final of the Stanbic Uganda Cup will be played on Saturday, 9th June 2018 at the Emokori Play ground in Bukedea District.

Mike Hilary Mutebi, KCCA manager, said KCCA players have really worked hard to progress for the finals of the Stanbic Uganda Cup.

“I am personally happy for the performance of the players particularly Steven Sserwadda who scored a brilliant goal. We are set for the finals for any club that qualifies.”

Brian Ssenyondo, head coach Synergy Football Club said: “I do not know what happened to the team players on the day. But, overall, I am happy for the campaign we have had so far. These are young players willing to learn and are still learning.”

The return leg of KCCA against Synergy produced 9 goals at the Star Times Stadium, Lugogo. Allan Okello is seen here in full control of the ball. He netted a brace.

Past Winners

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) since 1971

1971 –Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976- Gangama FC

1977- Simba FC

1978 – Nsambya FC

1979 – KCC FC

1980 – KCC FC

1981 – Coffee FC

1982 – KCC FC

1983 – SC Villa

1984 – KCC FC

1985 – Express FC

1986 – SC Villa

1987 – KCC FC

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC FC

1991 – Express FC

1992 – Express FC

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express FC

1995 – Express FC

1996 – UEB SC

1997 – Express FC

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes SC

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express FC

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express FC

2004 – KCC FC

2005 – URA FC

2006 – Express FC

2007 – Express FC

2007/8 – Victors FC

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors FC

2010/11 – Simba SC

2011/12 – URA FC

2013/2013 – SC Victoria University

2013/2014 – URA FC

2014/15 – SC Villa Jogoo

2015/16 – Vipers SC

2016/17 – KCCA FC





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here