Kenyatta names new cabinet

President Uhuru Kenyatta

Kenya president Uhuru Kenyatta has Friday announced members of his new cabinet while addressing the nation at State House Nairobi.

“Today I wish to name a few of those I wish to join me in fulfilling our agenda,” he said in a televised address.

President Kenyatta retained six Cabinet Secretaries; Henry Rotich (Treasury) Najib Balala (Tourism), James Macharia (Transport), Fred Matiang’i (Education and Acting Interior), Charles Keter (Energy) and Joseph Mucheru (ICT).

Kenyatta also appointed John Munyes, Okur Yatani and Keriako Tobiko to the Cabinet subject to vetting and approval by Parliament, according to Citizen TV.

State House Comptroller Lawrence Lenayapa has been nominated as Kenya’s Ambassador to the Netherlands.

The Director of Criminal Investigations Ndegwa Muhoro, Deputy Inspector General of police, Joel Mboya Kitili and Deputy Inspector General Administration Police Service have been forwarded to Public Service Commission for redeployment.

He appointed George Kinoti (DCI), Edward Njoroge MBugua (Deputy IG Kenya Police), Gabow Noor (Deputy IG AP) in acting capacity until processed by Public Service Commission.

Former Nakuru Governor Kinuthia Mbugua has been named new State House comptroller replacing Lawrence Lenayapa.

Joseph Kinyua retained as State House Chief of Staff to be deputized by Wanyama Musiambu.

Kenyatta said for the first time in history, Kenya has achieved a 1:1 ratio of book to child.

Earlier, he flagged off truckloads of books to primary and secondary schools in a new government initiative to ensure each student has a textbook for each of the core subjects.