Kadaga suspends house over soldiers, Otto attacks Silwany

Otto tries to grab a mic from Silwany [Photo by Nicholas Bamulanzaki]

The Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga has suspended the house until 2pm in the afternoon after soldiers were reported present at Parliament.

It was MP Lucy Akello who told the house that she found soldiers occupying both the Catholic/Anglican Chaplaincy prayer places in Parliament.

“I saw them — they were in thousands — I saw about 300 soldiers at the chaplaincy. Those who were in plain clothes were about 50 and those in uniform were about 300. Truth has started coming out but we are not moved.”

Aruu County MP Odonga Otto was seen tackling NRM deputy chief whip Solomon Silwany, who attempted to grab a microphone from him for confirming the presence of soldiers.

MP Silwany said it was true soldiers are in the House “but they are just praying”.

Victoria University

The speaker called for order in the house as Otto threatened to deal with Silwany.

She suspended the house until 2:00pm to establish what is in the place of worship.

“See how cheap they lie. So does Parliament have a room with space to accommodate thousands?” rebuked ICT minister Frank Tumwebaze.

Security has now been heightened at Parliament. Security is blocking journalist from capturing scenes of the chaos.

Parliament in session

“They have been urinating in plastic bottles inside the church, they have been eating from the church and they have guns inside the church. This is sad,” a legislator said.

The musical instruments in the Catholic chapel have reportedly been broken.

“This is the highest blasphemy to all Christians. Power is good but faith is much greater than the country and all politicians. Parliament is ready to be another Namugongo,” another MP pointed out.

On Monday, Kadaga suspended six MPs during the age limit bill debate.

Ntungamo Municipality MP Gerald Karuhanga said the decision was very sad but not surprising and they would take Kadaga to court for it.

Other suspended MPs are Allan Ssewanyana (Makindye West), Ssemujju Nganda (Kira Municipality), Jonathan Odur (Erute South), Mubarak Munyagwa (Kawempe North) and Anthony Akol (Kilak North).