FDC candidates ‘bribed out’ of Ruhaama MP race


Ruhaama county by-election in Ntungamo district has attracted only four candidates with three independents to replace MP Beijukye William Zinkuratire, a member of the ruling National Resistance Movement [NRM] party, who died on November 4.

Last minute Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party candidate, John Bamutonda, failed to complete the nomination exercise.

After leaving the nomination venue and failing to show up again, FDC party deputy secretary general for research and policy, Dr Joseph Tindyebwa, said Bamutonda had received a phone call from an anonymous person.


Dr Tindyebwa cited the case of Kenneth Kagunda who was also reportedly bought off and declined the party flag.

FDC mobilisation secretary, Ingrid Turinawe, had earlier dismissed reports saying they had failed to pay the nomination fees.

“FDC has never failed to pay nomination fees for our candidates! It has never happened and it will not happen. Nomination fees for our candidates is a must and it’s a priority,” she said.

She added: “We gave the FDC flag to Mr. Kagundu Kenneth and as of now, he is our trusted candidate. Arrangements are being done to have him nominated this morning. We have not received any information that he has or he can pull out. FDC is in the race, we won’t pull out.”

Ntungamo District Returning Officer Robert Beine confirmed those nominated at the Ntungamo district headquarters as; Kahima Moses Mugabe [NRM] and three independent candidates; Eng Jackson Kabeikire Mubangizi, Orishaba Vastin and Beinomugisha Penninah Jambo.

Peter Byamukama was rejected after failing to present his original senior six certificates. Instead, Byamukama had presented photocopies of the certificate.

Campaigns for the elections will start on December 15.