NRM fronts Kahima to retain Ruhaama MP seat


The National Resistance Movement (NRM) announced Kahima Moses Mugabe as the winner of the party flag bearer election for Ruhaama County election held on Friday.

Kahima, aged 35 polled 20,463 votes defeating other six candidates who were vying for the NRM flag.

Kahima came second in the 2015 party flag bearer after suffering defeat to the late Beijukye William Zinkuratiire who won the MP seat for the constituency.

During the elections for the flag bearer Eng Jackson Kabeikire Mubangizi came second with 14,431 votes, while Johnson Rumanywa Zinkuratiire, brother of the late MP collected 9,579 votes.

Other candidates are; Arthur Mpeirwe who scored 8,581 votes, Adens Ntare Rutaro polled 8,581 votes, Tom Rwomushana scored 1,897 votes and Owembabazi Pamela scored 1,720 votes.

And 1,332 votes were invalid. A total of 65,564 voters participated in the voting.

The seat fell vacant on November 4th following the death of Zinkuratiire.

Kahima is a resident of Kitojo, Rwoho, Rukoni East Sub County, Ruhaama.

He holds a bachelor of Commerce degree from Makerere University, attained in 2005.

He has worked in the banking sector and also the United Nations Development Programme.

Prior to joining politics, he was working with Sheema District Local Government as district commercial officer.

Source: URN