MPs pen minority report rejecting approved age limit bill

Lwemiyaga County MP Theodore Ssekikubo

Members of Parliament on the Legal and Parliamentary Affairs committee who are opposed to the lifting of the presidential age limit have vowed to present a parallel report.

Lwemiyaga County MP Theodore Ssekikubo says they have already notified the committee chairperson about the minority report.

At the close of last week, the Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Committee met at Serena hotel in Entebbe and endorsed the age limit bill.

In their report, the eighteen MPs who voted in favour of the removal of the clause also proposed amendments to Article 105 (1) to extend the 5-year term to 7 years for the president and Article 105(2) to reintroduce term limits that were scrapped in 2005.

The Committee Chair MP Jacob Oboth Oboth will present the majority report on the floor of Parliament.

Veronica Eragu, Obua Dennis Hamson and Gafabusa Muhumuza are among the eighteen [18] MPs who supported the bill.

Abdu Katuntu, Medard Ssegona and Monicah Amoding opposed the bill.

Wilfred Niwagaba, Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda and Muhammad Nsereko were absent.

Ssekikubo says other amendments in the Bill except article 102b were unanimously supported by the all the committee members involved in the writing of the report.

Ssekikubo defended the decision by legislators to invite voters to witness the tabling of the age bill report.

The masses led by Jeema President Asuman Basalirwa is expected to clash with police, counterterrorism unit and Special Forces Command [SFC] soldiers currently deployed at parliament.