Legal committee approves age limit bill, 7-year term for Museveni  

President Museveni meeting members of parliament's legal and parliamentary affairs at statehouse Entebbe

The Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Committee has endorsed the controversial age limit bill which is being opposed by 85 percent of Ugandan citizens.

Following their meeting with President Museveni, the committee checked in at Serena hotel Kigo for a 5-day retreat to write the Age Limit report.

After the five days, the committee finalised its findings and approved the bill ahead of its passing by the August house.

The committee, in its report, proposes amendments to Article 105 (1) to extend the 7 years of term of office of the president, and, Article 105 (2) to reintroduce term limits that were scrapped in 2005.

Article 105 (1) is entrenched and can’t be amended unless through a referendum.

The Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Committee is chaired by West Budama South County MP, Jacob Oboth Oboth, with Robinah Rwakoojo as the Vice Chairperson of the Committee.

Veronica Eragu, Obua Dennis Hamson and Gafabusa Muhumuza are among the eighteen [18] MPs who supported the bill.

Abdu Katuntu, Medard Ssegona and Monicah Amoding opposed the bill.

Wilfred Niwagaba, Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda and Muhammad Nsereko were absent.

Other members of the committee include; Anna Adeke Ebaju, Mathias Mpuuga, Jackson Kafuuzi and newly elected MPs including; Rubanda Woman MP Prossy Akampulira Mbabazi, Kabong Woman MP Rose Lilly Akello, Iganga Woman MP Brenda Asinde Ssuubi, Rukiga Woman MP Caroline Kamusiime, Kibanda North MP Taban Amin and Nansana Municipality MP Robert Kasule Ssebunya.

Before the addition, the committee composition had been 23 members and with the addition of 6, the total membership now became 29. The Rules of Procedure provide for a maximum of 30 MPs on a particular committee.

The committee is dominated by the NRM with now the addition of 6 MPs bringing the NRM party’s membership to 19 legislators.

The committee has 6 independent members, 2 members of the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party and 2 from the Democratic Party (DP).

A total of 21 votes were cast at the Shs83m Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort- Kigo in Wakiso district retreat with eighteen members voting in favour of the bill.

Three MPs opposed the bill while the rest were absent. Committee chair Oboth abstained.

The ruling National Resistance Movement [NRM] wants the bill passed before Christmas.

Opposition parties have since called for a week of protests against the anticipated tabling of the report on age limit in Parliament next week.

The Togikwatako Article 102b Week activities will run under the leadership of Butambala county MP Muwanga Kivumbi. The whole country will be painted red.