Police mouthpiece Kayima wins author of year award


Police Spokesperson Emilian Kayima received two awards at the National Author’s Award 2017 including “Uganda’s Author of The Year 2017”.

The Saturday ceremony involving 16 winners from the various book categories took place at Mackinon Suites in Kampala.

“We would like to congratulate our spokesperson SSP Emilian Kayima who has today received two awards, from the National Author’s Award 2017 and also emerged the overall winner as an acknowledgement for his book “Taasa Ettaka Lyo”,” police said in a congratulatory message.

“Honoured and humbled for this award from the national authors,” Kayima said while reveiving the awards.

His book “Taasa Ettaka Lyo” translated as “Protect Your Land” was chosen as the “Book Of The Year” in the Native Book Award organised by the Native Authors, Publishers and Book Sellers’ Forum.

The police officer was rated best author in the “Self Help Category”.

Kayima who served under Police Land Protection Unit for five years, said he encountered many land problems facing communities and sought to help people end the problem.

Mass Buganda project

In July 2017, the Buganda Prime Minister Charles Peter Mayiga declared arrangements by the Kingdom to document all facts about the 52 clans in the kingdom and compile them into one book with an aim of making a reference for researchers and future generations.

While addressing authors and publishers during the first Buganda Book fair at the kingdom headquarters Bulange, Mengo Mayiga said the books would include: history, culture, norms and roles of each clan, some of which will need to be revived and taught to the young people because they are still beneficial to society.

Among the chosen books were those by former Rubaga South MP John Kenny Lukyamuzi and then Kampala metropolitan police spokesperson Kayima’s “Taasa Ettaka lyo” (Protect your land).

Museveni loses the book award

Meanwhile, the Saturday book award saw President Yoweri Museveni’s “Sowing the Mustard Seed” nominated in the Politics and Governance category lose to Henry Kyemba’s book “State of Blood”.

Other winners were columnist Hillary Bainemigisha in the Humour book category, Bonita Murungi for Child author of the year, Julius Ochwino won best Novel of the year while Professor Dumba Ssentamu’s Basic economics won best text book of the year ‘A’ Level.

Retired Judge George Kanyeihamba was given a lifetime award for writing 28 books while Walabyeki Magooba was awarded the same for writing 86 books in 50 years.

Nasser Kakumba, the President General Native Authors, Publishers and Book Sellers’ Forum says the objective of the awards is to step up the reading and writing culture in Uganda. They received a total of 180 entries.