NRM’s Asinde wins Iganga Woman MP seat

Asinde and her baby

The ruling National Resistance Movement [NRM] has secured the Iganga Woman Member of Parliament seat in yet another by-election.

Iganga district responded positively to the last minute call by the party National Chairman and Country President Rtd. Gen Y.K Museveni by voting NRM in the by-elections Thursday.

The District Returning Officer Ms. Ataho Mercy declared Asinde Brenda Suubi the winner at 03:05am at the district headquarters.

President Museveni was in Iganga on Monday and campaigned for Asinde at four different venues.

Out of the 16 Sub Counties, NRM won 14 including the two Divisions (Northern and Central) within the Municipality.

Victoria University

NRM’s Asinde Brenda defeated her main challenger Ms. Nantale on a difference of 19,120 votes.

Asinde Brenda (NRM) secured 43,197 votes followed by Nantale Mariam (FDC) with 24,077 votes, Babirye Asha (IND) 7,052 votes, Kwagala Oliver (IND) 1,212 votes and Kakerewe Aziza (IND) 689 votes.

This is NRM’s 8th victory out of the 12 by-elections so far conducted.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here