Uhuru jubilee party rejects new IEBC team

Some of IEBC officials addressing press

Jubilee has asked the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission [IEBC] chair Wafula Chebukati to replace the team constituted for the October 17 repeat election.

Party secretary general Raphael Tuju claims the current team, picked on Tuesday, is known to be partisan.

“We have received credible information that in the list, there are people known to be partisan,” he said on Wednesday.

He listed Marijan Hussein (project coordinator), Salome Oyugi (head of legal), Decimah Mmayi, Chispie Owiye, and Joseph Ayatta.

Others are Joyce Euom, Tabitha Mutemi, Limus Onyango and Caroline Manyange.

Victoria University

Tuju added: “Given the fact that acts of omission or commission that rendered the [August 8 general] election null and void originated from the IEBC staff, we hereby register our strong objection to the deployment of the above to be in a position to run the process.”

On Tuesday, Chebukati named a new team to conduct the polls under his watch. The team will be on board for three months.

Noticeably missing from the list is CEO Ezra Chiloba and ICT director James Muhati.

Among those presiding over the repeat election are Albert Gogo (head of ICT), Hussein (coordinator) and Bernard Misati (head of training).

Others are Sidney Namulungu (head of operations), Nancy Kariuki (logistics), Oyugi (head of legal) and Silas Rotich (head of national tallying centre).

NASA has also threatened to boycott the fresh polls saying IEBC is yet to heed to their demands.

Campaigns for round two of the presidential election officially began on September 6 and will end on October 15, IEBC announced on Wednesday.

Raila Odinga will face President Uhuru Kenyatta again following a Supreme Court ruling delivered by Chief Justice David Maraga.

Raila refused to concede saying Uhuru did not get 1.4 million votes more than he did and that there were malpractices.

He has made demands for the election, including a team other than the one headed by commission chairman Wafula Chebukati.

Source: Star Kenya



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here