NRM’s Kyabaggu wins Kalungu LCV seat

Museveni campaigning for Kyabaggu

The ruling National Resistance Movement [NRM] candidate Richard Kyabaggu won the Thursday August 31 election held in Kalungu district.

Kyabaggu [NRM] polled 19,742 votes followed by Emmanuel Musoke [DP] with 18,851 votes while Independents Mathias Kintu and David Luyombo Busagwa polled 697 votes and 272 votes respectively.

The district returning officer, Nantabo Leticia, declared Kyabaggu the new chairperson of Kalungu District.

“I congratulate him and the party for working hard and achieving victory,” said the NRM National chairman and President, Rtd. Gen. Yoweri Museveni, who campaigned for Kyabaggu.

Museveni while addressing rallies in Kalungu Town Council and Lwabenge Sub County on Tuesday, urged the people of Kalungu to ignore the lies being spread by the opposition leaders against the government and instead vote Richard Kyabaggu as their district chairperson.

The President said DP and other opposition parties in the area had specialised in smearing the ruling party with dirt, a mission he however said had not given them any advantage.

He added that the DP he knew and served between 1960-1970 believed in telling the truth unlike the current one headed by Nobert Mao.

He was also quick to ask opposition leaders to join NRM, a political party he described as the most successful in the history of Uganda.

His first rally was in Kalungu West constituency represented by DP’s Sewungu.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here