Rukiga polls: Brenda, Sadress win Bukinda, Rwamucu seats


Brenda Ainembabazi is the winner of the Rukiga district woman representative for Bukinda Sub County in Tuesday’s NRM primaries.

Ainembabazi polled 2,180 votes against her only contender Scovia Tumuramye who garnered 862 votes.

Sadress Zinabweine won by 4,093 votes against Allen Kyomuhendo’s 3,313 votes for Rwamucuucu Sub County and Rukiga Town Council, among other seats.

The elections results were announced by the Kabale and Rukiga NRM Registrar, Maurice Keitaba Mugenga, at about 3:48 on Wednesday morning.

Dr. Alexander Kampikaho won the hotly contested National Resistance Movement-NRM party primary elections for the LC 5 seat while Caroline Kamusiime Muhwezi secured the party flag for the Woman Member of Parliament seat.

Dr. Kampikaho beat his contenders with 15,551 votes representing 48.7 percent of the total vote, while Denis Willy Nkwasiibwe came in the second place with 11,479 votes representing 36 percent.

Jackson Asiimwe Rwamwehare trailed with 4,375 votes representing 13.8 percent.

On the other hand, Caroline Kamusiime won by 12,390 votes representing

39.4 percent of the total vote, Victoria Abigail Atukunda came second with 10,868 votes representing 34.5 percent, Pamela Kyomugisha Kihumuro garnered 3,384 votes representing 10.8 percent, Maureen Kyarisiima came in the fourth position with 2,861 votes representing 9.1 percent, Alice Basobokwe came third with 806 votes representing 2.6 percent while Charity Tumubweine Ainebyoona trailed with 758 votes representing 2.4 percent.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here