NRM primaries: Mugarama, Peace win Bunyangabu as Kamusiime, Zikampikaho take Rukiga

Minister Kahinda Otafiire campaigning for Caroline Kamusiime Muhwezi

Results from Tuesday ruling party NRM primaries indicate James Mugarama and Mutuuzo Peace as the winners of the Bunyangabu District flag.

Mugarama polled 18,367 votes beating Peter Musinguzi who got 11,976 votes in the race for district LCV NRM flag bearer.

Mutuuzo Peace amassed 17,127 votes followed at a respectable distance by Byabasaija Rose with 9,082 votes and Elizabeth Nikuze with 4,896 votes in the race for district Woman MP.

Kamusiime and Zikampikaho win in Rukiga

In the new Rukiga district, Caroline Kamusiime Muhwezi and Dr. Alexander Zikampikaho, won the NRM primaries.

Zikampikaho stood for the Rukiga County MP in last year’s parliamentary elections and lost to Minister Herbert Kabafunzaki.

He picked 15,551 votes (48.7%) to beat Denis Wiley Nkwasibwe the former Kabale Youth chairman who got 11,479 votes (36.6%) and Asiimwe Rwamwehare who got 4,375 votes (13.8%).

He is now the NRM flag bearer for the Rukiga District LC5 seat.

Kamusiime Muhwezi gathered 2,0390 votes  (39.4%), to beat her closest contender,  Victoria Abigail Atukunda, who got 10, 868  votes (34.5%) in the race for district Woman MP.

Pamela Kyomugisha Kihumuro got 3,384 votes, Maureen Kyarisima 2,861 votes, Alice Basobokwe 806 votes while Charity Tumubweine got 752 votes.

Nominations will be held on 24th and 25th September 2017 at the Rukiga district headquarters in Rwamucucu while the main elections will take place on September 21, 2017.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here