Parliament freezes lithographer post from new jobs


Parliament of Uganda has said the rescheduled aptitude tests for those who applied for jobs in Parliament will be held on Monday 31st July and 1st August 2017 at Makerere University.

“Applicants for the post of lithographer are however informed that the recruitment for that post is temporarily frozen until further notice,” the legislative house said in a social media statement.

“All shortlisted candidates should visit  to get the full details of the test schedules.”

The aptitude tests for candidates who applied for jobs in the Parliamentary Service were put off to a later date mid this month.

The tests that were meant to be conducted on July 13th and 14th 2017 were postponed following a server failure which could not enable the candidates access the exam.


The Director, Human Resource Department, Jackson Kumakech, said that despite efforts to restart the system and have the candidates sit the exam, the failure recurred forcing the postponement of the exercise.

The interview process was being held at the College of Computing and Information Science, Makerere University.

The Parliamentary Commission intends to fill 30 vacant positions in the Service, which include: Accountant, Clerk Assistant, Engineering Officer (Automotive) and Technician.

Other positions are: Administrative Assistant, Assistant Editor of Hansard, Engineering Officer (Mechanical), Information & Public Education Officer, Librarian, Procurement Officer, Protocol Officer, Publications Officer, Research Officer (Publication) and Research Officer (Statistician).

The recruitment would raise the number of staff in the Service from 435 to 465.

The recruitment was necessitated following the increase in the number of Members of Parliament in the 10th Parliament.

The Parliamentary Commission is charged with appointing, promoting and exercising disciplinary control over persons holding public office in Parliament; and to review the terms and conditions of service, standing orders, training and qualifications of persons holding office in Parliament.

The Commission was established by the Administration of Parliament Act, 1997 and is chaired by the Speaker of Parliament.

It comprises the Prime Minister, Minister of Finance, Leader of the Opposition, Government Chief Whip and four Backbench Commissioners.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here