Muhoozi extols sports as Onyango wins Footballer of Year award

Gen Muhoozi shakes Onyango's hand after the award

First son Maj Gen Muhoozi Kainerugaba last night handed Uganda Cranes goalkeeper, Denis Onyango, ‘Sports Personality of 2016’ by Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) award.

Onyango was voted the Best Footballer of the Year after helping Uganda extremely during African Cup of Nation, according to USPA which brings together all Ugandan sports journalists.

Muhoozi who was the Chief Guest at the Imperial Royale hotel held ceremony, congratulated the winners in different categories both country wide, regionally and internationally.

“It is good many young Ugandans are into sports. Sports is not only a big business, but improves your health,” Muhoozi said.

It was National Social Security Fund [NSSF] Head of Marketing and Communications official, Barbra Arimi, who handed over the Male Footballer of year award to Onyango at the Nile Breweries sponsored event.


Also recognised were Ndejje University athletes Felix, Shamim, Onesmus and Lillian.

Other winners:

Female Kick boxer of the year: Patricia Apolot

Netball player of the year: Joan Nampungu

Sports team of the year: Uganda Cranes

Legendary Award of the year 2016: Sheila Agonzibwe

Best run federation: Uganda Cricket Association

Sports event of the year: National Open Pool Championship

Female footballer of the year: Hasifah Nasuuna

Male athlete of the year: David Emong

Female Athlete of the year: Juliet Chekwel

Male Rugby Player of the year: @WokorachPhilip

Female Rugby Player of the Year: Grace Auma

Body builder of the year: Andrew Ssenoga

Female Golfer of the year: Flavia Namakula

Male golfer of the year: Ronald Otile

Boxer of the year: Shadir Musa

Motor sport crew of the year: Jas Mangat and Joseph Kamya

Female Basketball Player of the year: Judith Nansobya

Male Basketball player of the year: Jimmy Enabu

Male Cricketer of the year: Henry Ssenyondo

Female Cricketer of the year: Stephanie Nampina

Female Handball player of the year: Lilian Ajio

Male Handball Player of the year: Felix Mukunzi

Female Pool Player of the year: Vicky Namuyanja

Sula Matovu takes home the Male Pool Player of the year award

Netball player of the year: Joan Nampungu

Female karateka of the year: Linda Ochen

Ronald Mwanje is the male karateka of the year

Male chess player of the year: Harold Wanyama

Female chess player: Joyce Kabengano




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here