Akol, Musisi, Kagina, 39 officials to refund Shs6bn oil money

Doris Akol replaced Kagina at URA [Daily Monitor photo]

Parliament’s committee on Commissions, Statutory Authorities and State Enterprises (COSASE) has recommended that all beneficiaries of the oil tax cash from the president refund the money.

The notable beneficiaries of the six billion shillings, dubbed a presidential handshake, include Doris Akol, the Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) Commissioner General, Uganda National Roads Authority (UNRA) Executive Director, Allen Kagina and Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) Executive Director, Jennifer Musisi among others.

The list also has former Attorney General Fred Ruhindi, State Attorney George Kalemera, Solicitor General Francis Atooke and the Secretary to Treasury, Keith Muhakanizi.

These are part of the 42 public officers who received the money for their role in the 400-million-dollar Heritage Oil arbitration case which Uganda won.

Kagina and Musisi

Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga in January directed the committee chaired by Bugweri County MP Abdu Katuntu to investigate the oil cash bonanza and report back to parliament in two months. The reporting time was later extended.

Victoria University

The committee has since been interfacing with the beneficiaries as well as President Yoweri Museveni who okayed the payment.

The committee observations indicate that the payment of the six billion Shillings was managed by the URA Commissioner General with the payment being a reallocation of the money from the URA Tax Refund Account to URA Expenditure Account, something that the MPs say contravenes the law.

Following the reallocation, Akol suggested that a supplementary to URA for the same amount be considered and handled by the finance ministry.

Further committee observations on correspondences between President Museveni, former attorney general Fred Ruhindi and URA’s Akol indicate that the presidential handshake team requested or solicited for the reward.

List of beneficiaries

Category A [Core Team Shs 200m)

  1. Peter Nyombi
  2. Francis Atoke
  3. Allen Kagina
  4. Doris Akol
  5. Ernest Rubondo
  6. Harriet Lwabi
  7. Christopher Gashirabake
  8. Moses Kagwa
  9. Elizabeth Nakkungu
  10. Ali Ssekatawa
  11. Moses Mishach Kajubi
  12. Honey Malinga
  13. Alex Nyombi
  14. Mary Nakabirwa
  15. Geoge Kallemera
  16. Martin Mwambutsya
  17. Robinah Nakakawa
  18. Peter Muliisa
  19. Matthew Mugabi
  20. Samuel Kahima
  21. Rodney Golooba
  22. Syson Ainembabazi

Category B (Non-Core Team Shs100m)

  1. Fredrick Ruhindi
  2. Fred Kabagambe Kaliisa
  3. Rwakoojo Robinah
  4. Harriet Tukamushaba
  5. Moses Kibumba
  6. Martin Muhangi
  7. Annet Bazalilaki
  8. Lawrence Kiiza
  9. Keith Muhakanizi
  10. Chris Kasaami
  11. Francis Twinamatsiko
  12. Jennifer Musisi Semakula

Category C(Support Staff Shs 50m)

  1. Ojambo Paul
  2. Adakun Rose
  3. Joyce Mbabazi
  4. Moses Ekunu
  5. Angura Joseph
  6. Juliet Nambwayo
  7. Veronica Namuwenge
  8. Sylivia Nakibirango

Source: Uganda Radio Network



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here