Fufa polls: Referees elect delegates to assembly

George Wamala Katumba casts his vote

The Uganda Football Referees Association (UFRA) and the 2nd Division League (FUFA Big League) have on Monday elected their delegates to the FUFA Assembly.

The three successful candidates for the referees voted are; Ronnie Kalema (42 votes), Muhammed Shaban Ndawula (38 votes) and Rosebell Rwamuyamba (36 votes).

Catherine Adipo withdrew from the race.

This was after a peaceful election process supervised by the FUFA Electoral Committee Vice chairman/Spokesperson, Yusuf Awufe at FUFA House, Mengo in Kampala.

The UFRA Executive committee was also confirmed.

Ronnie Kalema (Chairperson), David Davis Katabira (1st Vice Chairman), Catherine Adipo (2nd Vice Chairperson), Brian Miiro Nsubuga (Treasurer).

The committee members are; Joseph Ochom, Ben Adrole, Issa Masembe, Lydia Nantabo Wanyama and Freddie Wanyama.

UFRA is constituted of 48 delegates who took part in the exercise.

The Composition of UFRA Assembly that voted the 3 delegates is as below;

10 referees’ assessors elected by FUFA’s 48 certified referees’ assessors

22 FIFA Referees (2017 list).

16 Delegates (2 delegates each representing FUFA’s 8 regions (Kampala, Buganda, Northern, North East, Western, Eastern, West Nile and Kitara).

Meanwhile, after the referees’ election, focus turned to the FUFA Big league delegates polls.

The 8 representatives for the FUFA Big league were all unopposed.

These included; Faisal Muhammed (JMC Hippos), Dennis Musinguzi (Airtel Kitara), Norman Ssemwanga (Kireka), Brian Ssengendo (Synergy), Hassan Kirunda Kakaire (Kataka FC), Apollo Ahimbisibwe (Ntinda United FC), Paul Mark Kayongo( Ndejje University)  and Alfred Odaga (Paidha Black Angels).

FUFA Electoral committee vice chairman Yusuf Awuye (left) hands over a certificate to Ntinda Football club official Dr Apollo Ahimbisibwe

The exercise continues on Tuesday with the Uganda Football coaches and players’ Associations election.

The other dates for the elections of the delegates for the Special Interest groups in the areas of Coaches, Players, Schools, Youth, Beach Soccer and Schools are hereby attached.

Women representation will have its election process kick off with the nomination exercise between 8th and 10th June 2017.

Election dates:

Venue: FUFA House

Tuesday 6th June 10am -Uganda Football Coaches Association

Tuesday 6th June 2pm-Uganda Football Players Association

Wednesday 7th June 9am-Uganda Beach Soccer Association

Wednesday 7th June Midday-Uganda Schools Football Association

Wednesday 7th June 2pm-Uganda Youth Football Association


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here