Makerere tops URA’s 20 tax paying institutions

Makerere University

Uganda Revenue Authority named top 20 tax paying education educational institutions.

The names of these institutions are contained in a notice issued by URA Commissioner General, Doris Akol, dated June 1, 2017.

The institutions are; Makerere University Council, International School of Uganda Limited, Kyambogo University, Uganda Christian University, Rainbow International School (2003) Limited, Cavendish University Uganda Limited, Gems Education Uganda Limited, Uganda Management institute, Kampala International School Uganda Limited, Islamic University in Uganda, Greenhill Holdings Limited, Makerere University Business School, Mbarara University of Science and Technology, Nkumba University, Uganda Martyrs University, Ambrosoli Limited, Agakhan Education Service Uganda, National Curriculum Development Centre, Law Development Centre and Bishop Stuart University Mbarara (U) Ltd.

Akol praised the institutions for playing a key role in sparking economic development.

She said the commitment by these instituions to pay taxes deserves a nod from the tax collecting body, parents and the general public.

Victoria University

Akol encouraged other institutions to also meet their obligations and pay taxes.

“I wish to implore many more well – known educational institutions to faithfully meet their tax obligations and be part of this top group as a further demonstration of public accountability,” she said.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here