Muntu, Mafabi, Oboi vie for FDC presidency

Nandala Mafabi, Wafula Oguttu and Mugisha

Three top Forum for Democratic Change [FDC] officials have expressed interest to vie for FDC party presidency.

They are; current party President Mugisha Muntu, secretary general Nandala Mafabi and former Kumi County MP, Patrick Amuriat Oboi.

Aside from these bigwigs, a mobiliser for the youth league, Moses Byamugisha, has already declared his bid for the presidential seat.

Maj Gen Muntu whose term of office expires on November 22, succeeded Kizza Besigye.

He defeated Mafabi to win the presidency but the secretary general now wants to try again and secure the seat.


Addressing journalists at the party headquarters in Najjanankumbi on Monday, the party deputy spokesperson, Paul Mwiru, called upon the candidates to pick nomination forms as they prepare to stand for various positions.

Mwiru said the party national council is slated for June 16-17 to discuss the election road map.

The party deputy secretary, Harold Kaija, said nomination of the party president will take place on August 14 to August 15 while open campaigns will kick off on August 17 and end on 31 of the same month.

The party will then hold a delegates conference on November 2 to elect the new FDC president who will be sworn in on November 3.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here